Posted by: kristinej | May 22, 2013

May 22nd, 2013

A lot has changed since my last blog post almost three years ago.  After recovering from my adventuresin Mali, I moved to Washington, DC, where I spent two and a half years working with the international development firm Social Impact.  I conducted project evaluations, traveled to Liberia for a short trip, and booked lots and lots of flights for other people.  This past fall I started my Masters in International Development Policy at the Georgetown Public Policy Institute, and this summer internship in Ghana is the fulfillment of a program requirement.  You can read more about the work I’ll be doing in the “About Kristine” section.

I also followed the news from Mali closely as a coup occurred and the country fell into conflict and instability.  I wrote a short piece about it for my school’s public policy review, though I have many more personal thoughts on the issue which I will perhaps share at a later time.

I arrive in Accra this Saturday, but it will probably take me a few days to get settled before I can write my first update.  In the meantime, I’ve posted a few pictures from my Liberia trip last spring.  Though I didn’t see much of the country beyond the drive from our hotel to the office and back, I still found it fascinating to be in a country so recently emerged from civil war, where recovery and progress are evident every day.

ImageImageImageImage

Responses

  1. I can’t wait to read all about your exciting adventures! You’re going to have such an amazing time!


Leave a Reply

Categories

